Do You Miswak?

May 2, 2009

I used to get a couple of cavities a year in my visits to the local dentist.  Then, however, I discovered miswak, the Sunnah toothbrush.  Subhan’Allah, for the last couple of years, I’ve been cavity-free.  I don’t use the miswak too often, maybe a couple seconds here or there after making wudhu or before the prayer.  However, the fact of the matter is that the Sunnah toothbruth is an effective tool for not only keeping your teeth fresh and clean, but also gaining the pleasure of our Lord, insh’Allah.  The Messenger of Allaah (SAW) said, “Siwaak cleanses the mouth and pleases the Lord” (Bukhari).

The Prophet (SAW) highly recommended the use of the siwak as he said, “Were it not for the fact that I did not want to make things too hard for my ummah, I would have commanded them to use the siwaak at every time of prayer” (Bukhari).

The miswak is a confirmed Sunnah and it is something we all should try to implement into our daily lives, not just for the sake of the cleanliness of our teeth, but also for the sake of implementing a beautiful Sunnah. 

So I ask you, do you miswak?

7 Responses to “Do You Miswak?”

  1. dua Says:

    Why do we feel so inadequate sometimes? I feel really inadequate compared to my fellow classmates. They just seem so much more accomplished, well-spoken, confident, etc. I know I shouldn’t feel this way and I think it happens more when my iman is low. How can we protect ourselves from being impressed by people who care nothing for God…? When you have time, can you write some advice about this? I benefit from your posts. Jazakallah kheyr.


  2. Assalam Alaikum brother/sister,

    It is natural feeling and I will try to write a related post on it, but give me some time (~1month), if possible, insh’Allah.

    However, I would recommend you read the post: https://mustaqeem.wordpress.com/2009/03/22/pitying-the-kuffar/ as I wrote it with a similar intention. The kuffar still do not find peace in their hearts, as “Those who believe, and whose hearts find satisfaction in the remembrance of Allah: for without doubt in the remembrance of Allah do hearts find satisfaction” (Qur’an, 13:28).

    Additionally, if you are able to, I would recommend listening to a lecture or two by Shaykh Ali al-Tamimi in this regard (http://kalamullah.com/ali-timimi.html), may I recommend his Ghuraba series.

    Moreover, consider the hadith, “The world is a prison-house for a believer and Paradise for a non-believer.”

    -Bilal

  3. dua Says:

    May Allah bless you & your family in this life and the hereafter and continue to increase you in knowledge…Ameen.

  4. Noor Says:

    Asslamu aleikum,

    Thank you for the timely post on miswak as mine is currently gathering dust….LOL. I stopped using it after I found that my gums were bleeding but looking back I now think it was a matter of using the miswak too hard and too frequently. I’ll try just using it for a few seconds as you do and insha-Allah I’ll see an improvement. Nice blog, great posts! 🙂


  5. Assalam Alaikum wa Rahmatullah,

    dua: My most recent post, “Testing our Faith” is my attempt to answer your question. I hope it helps iA.

    Noor: Jazak’Allahkhair for stopping-by, I hope you will continue to do so, insh’Allah.

    -Bilal


  6. I started a week ago and i will never leave it in shaallah

  7. shahnaz Says:

    MashaALLAH miswak is the only way to care for your oral hygiene,please ALLAH,follow sunnah of our beloved&be kind to the environment ,MashaALLAH all hasanat in one breath.I have replaced my toothbrush with Miswak &find it extremely beneficial.


Leave a Reply

