My Farewell to Baltimore

May 25, 2007

I’ve left Baltimore.  Alhamdulillah, I graduated from Hopkins and it’s time for the next chapter in my life to begin.  Nevertheless, I’m sad to say good-bye to Baltimore.  It will always be very dear to my heart.  Living in Baltimore was a blast.  The two best parts of it were, of course, Masjid ul-Haqq and O’s Place.  Last week, I was fortunate enough to say by farewell to both of them.  In my last week as a member of the Baltimore community, I made several trips to the D.C. and Northern Virginia area to say farewell to my family and friends in those communities.

Last Thursday, I graduated from Hopkins.  Alhamdulillah, I was able to finish my classes and the university granted me adegree.  Football coach Brian Billick was the keynote speaker.  He was a decent speaker.  I thought we would have had a more notable speaker since people like Al Gore and Bill Cosby had been the graduation speakers in years past, but alhamdulillah, Billick’s speech was enjoyable though it definitely had a lot of football analogies in it.  He’s definitely a bright guy.  In a weird sense, I will miss Hopkins.  It definitely had a very competitive, cut-throat atmosphere, which I could not stand.  Nevertheless, I was surrounded with people that are unbelievable in what they do.  They are amongst the smartest people I have ever met when it comes to academia.

Then, last Saturday, Masjid ul-Haqq held a fundraiser on-site to raise money to build a school.  Speakers included Imam Safi Khan from Dar-us-Salaam, Sheikh Mutahhir Sabree from Columbia, South Carolina, and Imam Sahmuddeen Harun from Austin, Texas.  Subhana’Allah, Sheikh Yusuf Estes even came to the event as he made a guest-star appearance.  I believe he is good friends with Sheikh Sabree, who also works with Sheikh Adly in South Carolina.  At maghrib time, the masjid had raised about $60,000.  Subhana’Allah, after maghrib, one brother anonymously donated $100,000!  Imam Sahmuddeen was a phenomenal fundraiser-er (I’m going to say he’s better than ever Imam Johari!) and the total at the end of the night came to $220,000!  Subhana’Allah, that is an unbelievable amount for the community.  Indeed, the Masjid ul-Haqq community is one that is attached to the ahkira over the duniya!  I will definitely miss Masjid ul-Haqq.  May Allah (SWT) bless this community and allow other communities to take a lesson from the brotherhood that is present there.

Then, on Sunday, I went to O’s Place one last time.  We were able to meet up with some of the brothers from UMBC and Morgan State as we all enjoyed a nice lunch buffet together.  Obviously, you cannot go wrong with solid halal chinese food.  Afterwards, I said my salams to everyone as I was planning to leave the following morning after fajr.  Alhamdulillah, I made lots of good friends during my stay in Baltimore and there is no doubt in my mind that I will definitely miss each and every one of them.  They were all special to me and it is my hope that they will keep in touch with me.  Insha’Allah, I pray that Allah (SWT) blesses them and that if we do not meet again in this duniya, then, insha’Allah, we will meet again in paradise.

6 Responses to “My Farewell to Baltimore”

  1. abu abdillah Says:

    assalamu alaikum,

    MashaAllah excellent post. InshaAllah wherever you move to next, you will find a community as strong as active as where you were before.

    May Allah (SWT) continue to bless Masjid al-Haq and may Allah (SWT) continue to use this masjid as a means to spread Islam according to the proper understanding in Baltimore.

    assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah
    Mat

  2. Raheema Says:

    Al hamdu lillah. I was living in B-more in 2007. I lived one block away from Masjid Ul-Haqq. Subhan-Allah. May Allah Reward those of you who found solice in such a corrupt place as Masjid Al-Haqq (you just had to be IN it to understand what I am saying) and may Allah Forgive me for repeating the bad news.
    I left Baltimore after 5 distasteful years, astagh ferullah. It reminded me of New York City.

  3. Talal Says:

    Asalamualikoum wa Rahmetoullah,

    I just came from Masjid Al Haqq.

    @ Raheema, can you tell me the masjid history in the most balanced way? I want to know because too many masajid are being built at the expense of foundational Islamic principles.

    @ Cool Muslim Guy, Keep it up! I think your blog is Kool.

    Asalamualikoum

  4. Talal Says:

    Ya sahmuddeen, tell them how you left Louisville, KY.

  5. asaffat Says:

    How did Sahmuddeen leave Louisville, KY?

    • Galib Ramathan Says:

      In the name of Allah the most Gracious and most merciful————-

      August 16, 2012

      Galib Malik Ramathan
      1626 Weston Rd Unit B1 Toronto, Ontario, M9N 1T9, Canada E-Mail: galibramathan1999@hotmail.com

      To Whom It May Concern:

      Assalamu Alaikum My Dear Brothers/Sisters in Islam

      My name is Galib Ramathan. I was born in Mogadishu, Somalia on January 1st 1981. I am from a poor Muslim family. I have a problem and I need some help from my Muslim brothers and sisters. I am sick I have a mental problem. I am not feeling well, I suffer mental illness called Schizophrenia; I am unable to work or to go to school because of this illness, Presently, I am taking a medication. I have a family doctor in Toronto, Ontario

      Presently; I am residing in Toronto for the past 17 years since 1994; alone by myself. I don’t have any family in Canada. My family is living in Africa Cairo, Egypt. I never had seen my family for long time because we lost each other during the civil war in Somalia.

      Now I would like to visit with my family and spend more time with them to feel much better. I miss my family and I miss home. Now I am a Canadian citizen. But I do not have money for airline ticket. My airline ticket it cost $1175.00 including everything. I can, t afford this airline ticket.

      Egypt is a poor country however everybody is happy and healthy nobody worries about anything.
      Today I am not in good health. For that reason I am requesting any Zakat during the month of Ramadan. Ramadan is month of blessing. Whatever Zakat you can afford please send me a cheque with my name on it at above address on the top of this letter. Please try to help me as much as you can.

      If you don’t help me nobody else can help me you are my Muslim brothers and sisters. Please don’t look at the money look the health I will get that is the most important thing. The reason I send you this letter is to let you know about my situation as a Muslim brother.

      Our Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon Him) says have mercy on those upon the earth; and Allah will have mercy on you and please help and follow those who are in need and wherever you are helping each other?

      Any amount of money that I can get will be greatly appreciated. I am planning to go to Cairo, Egypt on October 1st, 2012 insha-Allah. Please don’t ignore me as long as we are Muslim brothers and sisters.

      I wish I had this airline ticket it makes me comfortable and happier. Anyway you can help me I will be greatly appreciated. If I go to Cairo, Egypt and spend more time with my family my personal health problem will improve greatly, I will feel much better. Please donate to me generously and kindly.

      I am requesting for help for the sake of God. I need your help and would you please help me in this situation? I would like to have a chance to live happily and to experience no frustration due to my illness. I am very desperate for your help. If you don’t help me, who will?

      Thank you, for your understanding and May Allah bless you and your family. Jazak Allah Khayran

      Yours truly,
      Galib Ramathan


Leave a Reply

