Masjid ul-Haqq

April 23, 2007

So, today, insha’Allah, I decided I could reflect on what I consider to be my favorite masjid in America.  Before I talk about my personal experiences there, let me give you some background information about the masjid.  It’s the largest masjid in Baltimore, Maryland and it’s located on the street: Islamic Way (how cool is that!).  It was established in the 1970s and before that, it was used as a place to store Circus animals, hence its ginormous size.  Originally, Temple No. 6 of the Nation of Islam, the masjid now, alhamdulillah, is fully upon the Quran and Sunnah.  The masjid attracts almost 1000 people for jumah every week! 

Furthermore, it is supposedly the first inner-city masjid to have hired an immigrant imam.  Alhamdulillah, Imam Abdel-Razzaq is amazing, he’s one of the coolest brothers I’ve had the opportunity to get to know.  Originially from Jordan, he studied at the MAHAD in Northern Virginia.  Hmm, what other history facts can I give?  Oh yeah, they also house a resident hafiz.  This brother, Muhammad (a fellow Chemistry fanatic!), came over from Al-Azhar (Egypt) in Ramadan this year and alhamdulillah, they’ve managed to keep him here after that.  Muhammad is a cool character.  His father is an imam in Uruguay!

 So, anyways, as I was saying, this masjid is sooooo cool.  Every brother that’s been to this masjid says hands down, it is ridiculous awesome.  The masjid is very active in west Baltimore and Muslims, alhamdulillah, receive respect in the community as a result of it.  Most of the regular attendees are converts to Islam and they are some of the most enthusiastic people you will ever meet when it comes to the deen.  Most of the people here will give you a hug whenever you see them.  Regardless of whether or not you know someone, you’ll receive an “assalamu alaykum” from them.  Unfortunately, at many masajid now, that’s not the case (and it points towards one of the signs of the Last Day when people only give salams to people they know…).  This masjid, alhamdulillah, is thriving.  I’ve seen handfuls of people convert weekly at the masjid.  Everyone is always striving to learn arabic.  The adhan is given out loud so everyone in the community can hear it!  There was a point last year when the masjid was having halacas five nights a week (w/ five different knowledgable people leading them!).  Oh yes, the best part of the masjid is the sign that they have out front.  It reads:  “STOP!  Yield the way to your lord (Allah).”

16 Responses to “Masjid ul-Haqq”

  1. Emraan Says:

    Salaam brother Bilal. Your descriptions are so vivid! Haha, love the blog man, keep up the good work.

  2. omar mubarak Says:

    BILAL IS THE COOLEST GUY IN THE WORLD, I LOVE U MAN, BUT U KNOW WHAT???

    SLIGH IS STILL COOLER HAHA

    SALAMZ DAWG

    OMAR

  3. bigahk the kaffir smacker! Says:

    man i heard they just kicked the imam out wtf is up with that!!!!

  4. bilal Says:

    yes, unfortunately the masjid is going through some hard-times right now. Just keep the masjid and community in your duas and insha’Allah, everything will work out for the best.

  5. bilal Says:

    Assalamu Alaykum, I talked with Imam Abdel-Razzaq yesterday and the masjid is going through some hard times right now. Unfortunately, a handful of brothers that used to be Trustees are creating a fitna in the community right now. Nevertheless, alhamdulillah, the shura board and the community are behind the imam and supporting him fully. They were able to collect about 650 signatures last week as a protest. It is very sad to hear what is going on. The imam was telling me brothers were crying last week and I believe it as it is heart-breaking to hear what is going on. There is no doubt in my heart that Imam Abdel-Razzaq has been a huge blessing on the Baltimore community and insha’Allah he continues to be a blessing for it. Please just insha’Allah keep the community in your duas and insha’Allah everything will work out for the best. Wa assalamu alaykum, Bilal

  6. Esco Says:

    HEY! its been a year now and i was wondering how the mosuqe is doing now???

    get at me


  7. Assalamu Alaikum,

    Unfortunately, I moved out of the Baltimore community last year but I have been in close contact with the brothers there. Alhamdulillah, the masjid seems to be doing great. Imam Abdel Razzaq unfortunately was forced to leave and he opened a new masjid fairly close-by named ‘Baitullah’ that I would also encourage you check out. From my understanding, Masjid ul Haqq is back to normal and the brotherhood is still strong there. Imam Sahmudeen is the new shaykh there and he is phenomenal and a very good brother. Shaykh Muhammad Jad from Azhar is also still present teaching Quran and Arabic at the masjid. Still one of the coolest masajid in America in my opinion.

  8. sister at ul haqq Says:

    Assalamu Alaikum Mashallah i happened to stumble across this web site and it warmed my heart to hear good things about the masjid. May Allah reward you brother and counitnue to make Dua for the Ummah. WE NEED IT. I never personally met Imam Abdel Razzaq but I am blessed to know Shaykh Sahmudeen and he is a blessing to the community. May Allah have Mercy on us all AMEEN

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Check this out she began her project at al haqq now she is independent of the masjid and alhamdulliAllah. 2 more has surfaced Masha’Allah

    http://www.almumtahinahhome.com

  10. Fatimah Says:

    Salam
    I used to go to this masjid back in 2006, and I was new to Islam (I had been Muslim for 1 year) and I LOVED it there. It is by far the friendliest, coolest masjid I have ever been to. I moved out the sate in January 2007, and I had no idea the imam had left! MashAllah he gave the best khutbahs I had ever heard! I am saddened by this….Alhumdulillah Muhammed Hafiz is still there, I remember I used to like him very much (I was like, 11 back then) He is a great teacher.

    I remember back in ’06, the Jumah salah racked up 500-600 Muslims every week, now I see the numbers have increased! I also remember how almost every single week, some one new was taking there shahadah…I miss the community soooo much, and intend to move back there 1-2 years inshallah, pray for me!!!

  11. tom Says:

    man i forbad my family from going there i never in my life heard of a masjid where they have fights every couple months its too sad.

  12. Mohamed Gad Othman Says:

    Aslam Alaykom ,. This is Mohamed Gad Othman, The Egyptian Hafiz… I would like to say that it was best period I spent in USA when I was among brothers at Masjid Ul Haqq, I stayed there for more than 3 years.. Allah blessed me to be one His Book servants over there.. I ask Allah(SWT) to accept all our good deeds.. Alhamdulellah, I am still in the field of Dawa’a and teaching the Qura’an , last Ramadan month, I have been at an Islamic Center in New Zealand, Auckland.. I still miss all the brothers in Masjid Ul Haqq, my Allah guide them to the best.

  13. Galib Ramathan Says:

    In the name of Allah the most Gracious and most merciful—-

    August 16, 2012

    Galib Malik Ramathan
    1626 Weston Rd Unit B1 Toronto, Ontario, M9N 1T9, Canada E-Mail: galibramathan1999@hotmail.com

    To Whom It May Concern:

    Assalamu Alaikum My Dear Brothers/Sisters in Islam

    My name is Galib Ramathan. I was born in Mogadishu, Somalia on January 1st 1981. I am from a poor Muslim family. I have a problem and I need some help from my Muslim brothers and sisters. I am sick I have a mental problem. I am not feeling well, I suffer mental illness called Schizophrenia; I am unable to work or to go to school because of this illness, Presently, I am taking a medication. I have a family doctor in Toronto, Ontario

    Presently; I am residing in Toronto for the past 17 years since 1994; alone by myself. I don’t have any family in Canada. My family is living in Africa Cairo, Egypt. I never had seen my family for long time because we lost each other during the civil war in Somalia.

    Now I would like to visit with my family and spend more time with them to feel much better. I miss my family and I miss home. Now I am a Canadian citizen. But I do not have money for airline ticket. My airline ticket it cost $1175.00 including everything. I can, t afford this airline ticket.

    Egypt is a poor country however everybody is happy and healthy nobody worries about anything.
    Today I am not in good health. For that reason I am requesting any Zakat during the month of Ramadan. Ramadan is month of blessing. Whatever Zakat you can afford please send me a cheque with my name on it at above address on the top of this letter. Please try to help me as much as you can.

    If you don’t help me nobody else can help me you are my Muslim brothers and sisters. Please don’t look at the money look the health I will get that is the most important thing. The reason I send you this letter is to let you know about my situation as a Muslim brother.

    Our Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon Him) says have mercy on those upon the earth; and Allah will have mercy on you and please help and follow those who are in need and wherever you are helping each other?

    Any amount of money that I can get will be greatly appreciated. I am planning to go to Cairo, Egypt on October 1st, 2012 insha-Allah. Please don’t ignore me as long as we are Muslim brothers and sisters.

    I wish I had this airline ticket it makes me comfortable and happier. Anyway you can help me I will be greatly appreciated. If I go to Cairo, Egypt and spend more time with my family my personal health problem will improve greatly, I will feel much better. Please donate to me generously and kindly.

    I am requesting for help for the sake of God. I need your help and would you please help me in this situation? I would like to have a chance to live happily and to experience no frustration due to my illness. I am very desperate for your help. If you don’t help me, who will?

    Thank you, for your understanding and May Allah bless you and your family. Jazak Allah Khayran

    Yours truly,
    Galib Ramathan

  14. Galib Ramathan Says:

    In the name of Allah the most Gracious and most merciful——————————

    October 2, 2012

    Name Bank: Scotia Bank

    address Bank 1885 Weston Rd Toronto, Ontario, M9N 1V9, Canada
    Account Number # 516720403881 Branch Number # 51672 Institution
    Number # 002

    Swift Code NOSCCATT

    Canadian dollar Account

    Name Account: Galib Ramathan

    Galib Malik Ramathan
    1626 Weston Road Unit B1 Toronto, Ontario, M9N 1T9, Canada
    E-Mail: galibramathan1979@hotmail.com

    To Whom It May Concern:

    My Dear Brothers/Sisters in Islam

    Assalamu Alaikum wa-Rahmatullahi wa-Barakathu

    My name is Galib Ramathan. I was born in Mogadishu, Somalia on January 1st 1981. I am from a poor Muslim family. I have a problem and I need some help. And I am currently a Canadian citizen. I am from a low income family and in need of financial assistance. I am sick and suffering from a mental illness called Schizophrenia;

    I am unable to work or to go to school because of this illness. Presently, I am taking a medication and in care of a family doctor in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. My health was affected by the civil war in Somalia when I was ten years old and its deteriorating day by day. I have been sick for the past 20 years since 1991.

    Presently, I am residing in Toronto for the past 17 years by myself with no family members. My family is in East Africa Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania, I have been away from my family since 1994; we were separated because of the civil war in Somalia.

    I have decided to move to Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania permanently to join my family, I never took a medication in my life when I was in Africa it doesn’t matter what part of Africa. Now if I go back to Tanzania my personal health problem will be improve greatly. I will feel much better.

    I am going to Tanzania in order to improve my health condition. I am frustrated, lonely and depressed living in Canada alone without my family I can’t eat properly and I cannot sleep because of the stress,

    I believe I will be off in Tanzania with my family as I am ill and they can take care of me. I strongly believe my health will improve with my family around;

    I lived in Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania for many years before coming to Canada and that time I was healthy and I never suffered from any disease or illness.

    I am not will be unable to get enough money to survive there. I am in need of financial assistance in order to move back to Tanzania, as I am unable to work due to my illness and I cannot survive in Africa as there is no agency or government that can assist me financially.

    I would be much better for my health wise physical and mentally I will really appreciated for any help that I can get from you.

    If I remember how we lived in Tanzania sometimes I cry. I am in need urgent support and please try to assist me the best you can. Please don’t ignore me. It doesn’t matter if you are a Muslim or non-Muslim, Please try to help me as much as you can.

    Today I don’t have a life in this country. I spend thinking about myself of not knowing what to do. I would like to achieve a better life as well as independence. Now the problem I have is I am not will be able to get enough money to survive there. I cannot survive in Africa without any support.

    Tanzania is a poor country however everybody is happy and healthy nobody worries about anything because there is no stress, frustration and
    depression.

    I have strong feelings going back to Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania for good. I am requesting any financial assistance for this matter.

    I am a poor social support in Canada.
    I can’t even afford to visit with my family and spend more time with them to feel much better.

    Whatever charity you can afford please Deposit into this Bank Account on the top of this letter you can also send me a cheque with my name on it at above address on the top of this letter with ups services, or Federal Express post. Please don’t send me regular mail because my house is basement the mail box there is no Key and it is outside apartment it is not safe.

    Please the reason I send you this letter is to let you know about my situation as Muslim brothers and sisters. Anyway you can help me will be greatly appreciated.

    Islam cares much for maintaining the highest level of social solidarity and strength among the members of the society. It goes without saying that spending money on charitable deeds, such as helping the needy, alleviating the pains of the distressed and support those who are in need will be upon them in this world and hereafter.

    Safwan ibn Salim related that the prophet said; anyone who looks after and works for a widow and a poor person is like a warrior fighting for Allah�s cause, or like a person who fasts during the day and prays all night (Bukhari) Anas related that the prophet said; if any Muslim plants something or sows seed from which a man, a bird or an animal eats, it counts a charity for him. (Bukhari, Muslim)

    Any amount of money that I can get will be appreciated and I will pray for you and for myself for God to make it easy for me and bless whoever will be willing to assist me, reward them and make it easy upon them in this world and hereafter?

    I will not be unable to survive Tanzania without assistance. Please try your best to assist me. I get depressed if the weather is too cold especially during the wintertime but African season is always summer there is no winter in Africa.

    The weather in Tanzania is good and I will be more active unlike here I cannot stand the winter season and the more I stay inside my apartment due to the cold I get more stressed out and depressed. I would like to be independent in my life I want to get a better life in the future.

    I am very happy to go back to Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania to be with my family.
    I miss my family and I miss home. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me as soon as possible.

    I feel depressed and unhappy and I feel lonely. I would like to closer to my family. I am planning to go to Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania on December 31, 2014 for good insha-Allah, I am happy to go to Tanzania to be with my family and share my life with them to feel much better.

    I need your help and would you please help me in this situation? I would like to have a chance to live happily and to experience no frustration due to my illness. I am very desperate for your help. If you donâte help me, who will?

    Thank you, for your understanding and May Allah bless you and your family.

    Jazak Allah Khayran

    Yours sincerely,
    Galib Ramathan

  15. Ukhty Samira S. Ally Says:

    Assalamu ‘aleykum warahmatullahy wabaraqatuhu, may Allah increase our imaan, mashAllah its an amazing feeling to read such information about our growing religion, im in Tanzania n how i wish subhanAllah that we too had such enthusiastic people that we wud be able to meet in our masjids, may Allah bless us in shaa Allah 🙂

  16. Galib Ramathan Says:

    In the name of Allah the most Gracious the most merciful—-

    July 28 2013

    Galib Malik Ramathan
    1626 Weston Road Unit B1Toronto, Ontario, M9N 1T9, Canada
    E-Mail galibramathan1979@hotmail.com

    To Whom It May Concern:

    My Dear Brothers/Sisters in Islam

    Assalamu Alaikum wa-Rahmatullahi wa-Barakathu

    My name is Galib Ramathan. I was born in Mogadishu, Somalia on January 1st 1981. I am from a poor Muslim family. I have a problem and I need some help from my Muslim brothers and sisters. I am sick I have a mental problem. I am not feeling well, I suffer mental illness called Schizophrenia; I am unable to work or to go to school because of this illness, Presently, I am taking a medication. I have a family doctor in Toronto, Ontario

    Today I am not in good health. I am always nervous and I hear the voices all the time. I feel depressed and unhappy and I feel lonely. I don’t have any family in Canada. My family is living in East Africa Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania. I would like to visit with my family and spend more time with them to feel much better. Now I am a Canadian citizen. I don’t have money for airline ticket. My airline ticket it cost $1500.00 including everything. I am planning go to Dar-Es Salaam, Tanzania on September 1st, 2013 insha-Allah for that reason I am requesting any Zakat during the month of Ramadan. Ramadan is month of blessing.Whatever Zakat you can afford please send me a cheque with my name on it at above address on the top of this letter as soon as possible. Please work hard I am waiting for you. May Allah will give you more than you give me and May Allah will help you and reward you?

    I am going to Tanzania in order to improve my health condition to feel much better. I am in need of important urgent support and please try to assist me the best you can. If you don’t help me nobody else can help me you are my Muslim brothers and sisters. Please don’t ignore me as long as we are Muslim brothers and sisters.

    Any amount of money that I can get will be greatly appreciated. Anyway you can help me I will be greatly appreciated. Please donate to me generously and kindly. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me as soon as possible. I am requesting for help for the sake of God. I need your help and would you please help me in this situation? I would like to have a chance to live happily and to experience no frustration due to my illness. I am very desperate for your help. If you don’t help me, who will? Thank you, for your understanding and May Allah bless you and your family.

    Jazak Allah Khayran

    Yours truly,
    Galib Ramathan


Leave a Reply

