The Seven Under the Shade of Allah

April 20, 2007

My Lord, I actually ended signing up for a blog. So, I’m going to try to get this thing going and I’ll try, insha’Allah (God-willing) to update it whenever I get a chance. I’m not very good at computers (I don’t even own one) so please bear with me as I go through this new exciting phase in my life. I’m learning about technology that apparently six-year olds already know inside-and-out. Six-year olds can be soo amazing! My only interaction in elementary school with a computer was on those old school Macs and of course, everyone’s favorite game, “Oregon Trail.” SubhanAllah, the generation below us is soo cool and they’re growing up so fast in front of our eyes. Insha’Allah they are also able to embrace the haqq (truth) of Islam at an early age as well so that they can be amongst the seven people that are under the shade of Allah when there is no shade save the shade of Allah. Know the hadith I’m referring to? Here’s the full narration:

Abu Hurairah narrates that the Prophet (SAW) said:
There are seven whom Allaah will shade in His Shade on the Day when there is no shade except His Shade:
1.) a just ruler
2.) a youth who grew up in the worship of Allaah, the Mighty and Majestic
3.) a man whose heart is attached to the mosques
4.) two men who love each other for Allaah’s sake, meeting for that and parting upon that
5.) a man who is called by a woman of beauty and position [for illegal intercourse], but be says: ‘I fear Allaah’
6.) a man who gives in charity and hides it, such that his left hand does not know what his right hand gives in charity
7.) and a man who remembered Allaah in private and so his eyes shed tears
This hadith can be found in both Sahih Bukhari and Sahih Muslim.

Yeah, so these youth insha’Allah fall into category number 2. Boy, do I hope insha’Allah that we are also amongst those people under the Shade of Allah when there is no shade save His. I don’t think I’m in any of those categories right now. Insha’Allah, just keep the Ummah (including me, hehe) in your duas. It would really blow to be at the Day of Judgement waiting for our hisab (reckoning) drowning in own sweat, yuck!

I guess I can try to do some personal reflections on this hadith, but I’m pretty bad at these type of moments. This hadith is a favorite of a good friend of mine (may Allah bless this brother, he’s a good guy, I don’t want to use names so I’ll use initials: NR). I remember we were driving once in New York along with some other brothers heading towards Al-Maghrib and we were talking about this hadith and just bouncing off one another going back-and-forth naming the seven people that fall into this category. SubhanAllah, those were some good times and insha’Allah many more of those types of ‘halacas’ lay ahead in our future.

Hmm, what else can I talk about in this hadith? Nothing is really coming to mind, it’s definitely a pretty awesome hadith! Any thoughts?

2 Responses to “The Seven Under the Shade of Allah”

  1. blog Says:

    Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this site.


Leave a Reply

